Website accessibility

WCAG 2.1 AA Badge

UK Public sector organisations from parish councils to the NHS are working towards ensuring that their websites meet the WCAG 2.1 web accessibility standards.

On 23rd September 2018 the EU’s Web Accessibility Directive was incorporated in UK law and as a result all public sector bodies, from Parish Councils to the NHS became legally accountable for the accessibility of their web and mobile applications.

This is a situation that is not likely to change as a result of Brexit. 

Under the Web Accessibility Directive, public sector websites and mobile applications must meet the WCAG 2.1 AA standard and organisations must publish accessibility statements outlining:

  • Which parts of their services do not meet accessibility standards and why
  • How people with access needs can get alternatives to the content that isn't accessible to them
  • How to report accessibility problems – including providing a link to the government website that they can use if they’re not happy with the result

Compliance deadlines

  • 23 Sep 2019 – all public sector new websites and apps published after 23 Sep 2018 became subject to the directive
  • 23 Sep 2020 – all public sector websites published before 23 Sep 2018 become subject to the directive
  • 23 Jun 2021 – all public sector mobile apps become subject to the directive.

How can we help?

Exigia can help by

  • auditing your website and reporting on accessibility issues
  • helping you with the text of accessibility statments
  • monitoring your website to detect new problems
  • or even developing a WCAG compliant web site as part of our Web Services

Button with the legend 'contact us'

or call 0843 886 0505